School Commission

St. Alphonsus School Commission is a consultative body to assist both the Pastor and Principal in the planning and development of long range goals, policy formation, and budgeting for the sustainability of the school and its programs. Membership is made up of diverse group that reflects the composition of the parish and school itself. They meet monthly to ensure Commission goals are moving forward and can communicate the school’s mission to all members.

St. Al’s Commission has drawn inspiration from the Archdiocese of Seattle’s Plan for 21st Century Catholic Schools “from Strength to Strength”. The Commission has established primary goals for our strategic plan in the 2017-2018 school year in the following areas:

  • Catholic Identity
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Finance
  • Enrollment, Recruitment, Retention
  • Facilities


Goal Initiative
Catholic Identity Support Mission and Identity within our Community Uniformed school grade participation at Sunday mass each month sharing current class projects.
Promotion of student service projects within the community.
Curriculum and Instruction Implementation of Enrichment Programs for Students Internal programs and resources for student development in concert with core studies and STEM.
Finance Endowment Implement sustainable program for past and current families of the school.
Enrollment, Recruitment, Retention Recruitment for Preschool
Focus on Preschool to Kindergarten transition
Evaluate year round childcare for preschool children for promotion of preschool availability.
Develop marketable plan to bridge preschool students to Kindergarten, respecting cost sensitivity of options in Seattle.
Facilities Maintain a safe and secure facility for our students and maximize utilization of our space in support of the school’s mission Continue upgrade of campus surveillance and school safety manual.
Ensure current facility layout is suitable for curriculum programs.


2017-2018 St. Alphonsus School Commission Members

Fr. Richard Klepac, SOLT

Kathleen Cifu

Parent and Parishioner Members
Anne Loucks, Chair
Brian Horstmann, Vice Chair
Christine Cavanaugh, Secretary
Maura Cannon, Treasurer
Ashley Dixon
Miriam Hansen
Sheila Kern
Carlos Walker

Contact the School Commission at